Frequently Asked Questions

Is ALL my information publicly visible?

What is the route? Can I set-up more than one route?

What does 'overlapping miles' and 'extra drive' mean?

I am not comfortable with carpooling with someone unknown. How can I get over this hurdle?

How do I create my trusted group (My Connections) to carpool?

How do I screen matches before adding to my 'trusted group to carpool?

How do I pick the best match to carpool?

What if I do not see any matches?

How do I share rides?

Is there any penalty in canceling a confirmed ride?

What if the 'driver' does not show up or is running late?

How much do I pay or earn?

How does the Payment Processing work?

What precautions does miles2share take to ensure member safety?

What does miles2share do if it learns that a member is unsafe or misbehaved?

What should I do if I find negative information after doing my search?

What is a 'Private Closed Network,' and how does this work?


Is ALL my information publicly visible?

Members with overlapping routes can see the following: your name, occupation, organization, overlapping %, and overlap distance. Members on your trusted network (please see below how you create your trusted network) can see your phone number, route, and schedule info. If you are carpooling with a member who is not on your trusted network, this member will have access to your route information till you complete the ride. You have the option to 'block' a user after connecting.

What is the route? Can I set-up more than one route?

A route consists of an origin address and a destination address. For example, 'home to work' or 'home to a stadium' or 'one city to another.' Yes, a member can set up multiple routes.

What does 'overlapping miles' and 'extra drive' mean?

Overlapping miles: distance of one user's route common to another user. Extra drive: additional miles (or km) a user needs to drive to pick up and drop off a rider. You should look for users with the least extra drive and maximum overlap to carpool.

I am not comfortable with carpooling with someone unknown. How can I get over this hurdle?

If you are not comfortable carpooling with someone unknown, Miles2share provides a platform for you to connect and create your own trusted group to carpool in the future.

How do I create my trusted group (My Connections) to carpool?

Follow these steps to create your own trusted group to carpool:

  1. From the recommended matches, using the overlap % and least extra drive, invite a user to share a ride.
  2. Connect using miles2share's messaging to meet in a public place to decide if you would like to share rides in the future.
  3. Once both members confirm, both will have access to each other route, schedule, and phone #.
  4. If you do not want to share rides with a user, you can simply decline. This user will never show up as a match.

How do I screen matches before adding to my 'trusted group to carpool?

Always use your discretion when meeting a person. Meet in public places such as bookstores, cafes, food courts, etc. before deciding to share rides. You should also consider asking to see their driver's license as an additional precaution.

How do I pick the best match to carpool?

Numerically, the best match is the one with the least extra drive and maximum route overlap. But your screening of the matches may trump the numbers.

What if I do not see any matches?

There is a possibility as we continue to build the momentum, you may not find a match to carpool right away. As new members sign up, we will notify you if there is a match.

How do I share rides?

On the 'Share Rides' screen, simply tap on a user to request a ride or offer a ride and wait for this user to confirm. Here you may opt to carpool within your trusted ridesharing group.

Is there any penalty in canceling a confirmed ride?

No, there is no penalty in canceling a confirmed ride. We ask that you should please call your ridesharing partner and notify them in advance. We advise you not to cancel a 'confirmed ride' at the last minute, as this may adversely affect your rating and cause unnecessary inconvenience to your ridesharing partner.

What if the 'driver' does not show up or is running late?

It is possible that due to some unforeseen reason, a user may not be able to arrive as planned. Please consider the following options:

  1. Attempt to contact the person, letting them know that you plan to use an alternate option to get to your destination.
  2. Cancel this ride.

How much do I pay or earn?

Please see Fees & Service Charge Schedule for details

How does the Payment Processing work?

Miles2share is using Stripe payment gateway for financial transactions for riders to pay and payout to drivers in the USA and  RazorPay  payment gateway for passengers to pay and payout to drivers in India. Stripe and RazorPay are the most secure and the best payment processing platforms in the market, handling millions of transactions. The rider pays upon getting into the vehicle to carpool. Amount paid by a passenger, after netting off miles2share service charge, per Fees & Service Charge Schedule, transferred to driver account within a couple of days

What precautions does miles2share take to ensure member safety?

Our goal is to build a safe and growing ridesharing community. Every user goes through email verification and mobile phone verification. If you belong to an organization offering a 'Private Closed Network,' you will only see other users from the same organization. We do not check background history or driving records. It is solely your discretion to decide to share rides.

What does miles2share do if it learns that a member is unsafe or misbehaved?

If miles2share learns a member may be unsafe or has misbehaved, we immediately suspend the member's account and notify any other members in contact with this member of the account suspension. Your safety is our priority.

What should I do if I find negative information after doing my search?

Please contact customer service at info@miles2share.com if you uncover any suspicious or inappropriate information so that we can take appropriate action.

What is an ‘Exclusive Closed Network’ and how does this work?

A Private Closed Network provides a platform to share rides with others from the same organization. To know more about Private Closed Network, please contact us at info@miles2share.com

If you have any other questions, please contact us at info@miles2share.com